We are now weeks away from my oldest child’s high school graduation and I’ve watched many a fellow “Senior Mom” shed endless tears over losing their baby. I, on the other hand, have felt very little sadness–and I’m a tad perplexed as to why.

I love my son. LOVE THAT BOY. And I know the tears will come when we drop him off at his dorm and make the return trip without him.

But now?

This is what I want for him–college, independence, freedom. I think I’d be shedding buckets of real tears if he weren’t going away to school and instead staying home with us to live happily ever after in the basement.

There are moments when I get sad, mostly when I think back to his younger years and wonder where the time went. Also, when I read articles like this where I’m the old couple in the story and not the young mother.

This has been one heck of a ride with my baby boy. He was our test case and crash dummy for our first attempt at parenting. He’s a great kid (not perfect), he’s happy, and he’s going to college in the fall. Life is good.

Bring on the tissues!

4 thoughts on “Why Aren’t I Crying?

  1. Could not agree with you more! This is exactly what we are preparing them for and if Alex were not as happy as is he is right now, I would feel like a complete failure. We are here to give them roots and their wings. I cry now because he is SO happy! Give yourself a pat on the back. A job well done!

  2. I felt the same way when my eldest son left for college. The tears came later when I realized there was an empty spot at the dinner table. All the time. It’s the same this time as my middle son’s graduation approaches–waiting for the sadness. So far, I feel excitement and anticipation for his next steps. He’s ready. I know he won’t be far away, but not under my roof next year. Best to you and Chris on this journey.

Leave a comment